Barter Games (Part 1 of 5)

Pia Monroe
6 min readNov 10, 2021

There’s nothing worse than having your cruise ship sink during a sudden hurricane and then waking up on a deserted island with other clueless passengers…

Unless you count the fact that the only man I can trust is my grumpy and mysterious bodyguard and he’s not in the mood to play nice at all.

But if I want to survive this shipwreck, I’ll need to play a game of barter with him, like a joke in exchange for a meal or even a kiss.

But when I need the safety of his bed for the first scary night on the island, can I give him everything he wants?

Licensed from Depositphotos, edited by Pia Monroe

The Heiress

I must be dreaming.

What happened to my suite, the one that had its own balcony with a view I could admire from my king-sized bed? Where’s my phone, the one I used to post on social media every delicious detail about my first-ever cruise to St. Lucia, from the parties, the shows, and the hours spent laying out by the pool to perfect my tan as I ordered one of my bodyguards about?

How they must have hated it, their job descriptions not allowing their real emotions to show on their faces lest I tell on them. But that’s what they were there for even when I’d told my father I didn’t need them. I was twenty-one, for crying out loud, old enough to drink, vote, and travel on her own damn cruise by herself.

--

--

Pia Monroe

Hopeless romantic, writer of erotic love stories and an accidental narrator. All stories are intended for 18+. Find my books on piamonroe.com